Anime Review 173 Mobile Suit Gundam Twilight AXIS

What the hell were Sunrise thinking when making Gundam Twilight Axis?

The words what the hell I just watched couldn’t be stronger here as after watching six episodes of this I was left baffled of how a show like this could have even exist. I’ve seen my fair share of bad Gundam shows but this may be the most incompetent Gundam show to come out from the franchise. I mean who thought that a 3 minute runtime for each episode would be a good idea.

Who though that the whole story would be told in 27 minutes?

Why only 6 episodes count?

Why everything?

It had interesting ideas in its belt but the abysmal runtime which is throws it’s potential in the bin.

The visuals were good as you expect from modern U.C Gundam. Very colourful, well animated and still retains that retro U.C feel into it. The soundtrack while not much fitted the anime nicely.

Lastly thing that saved it from the worst than G Saviour it would female MC Arlette. She such a breath of fresh air compare to the standard angsty U.C male protagonists. She’s filled with personality, and I enjoyed her journey in the OVA. I hope we get more female Gundam protagonists in the near future.

That’s all the stuff that didn’t me want to bang my head on a solid wall. Everything else is a disaster.

It’s frankly hard to say that Twilight Axis has a story because it basically doesn’t. I don’t even understand why Sunrise even bother with this when you could have easily made a Cross Bone Gundam anime. It was right there, but instead they decided to work on this broken and unfinished project. Nothing gets any breathing room as the OVA has no idea of what pacing is. This is basically Gundam F91 again cranked up to 11 with no honour or shame. Due to this the OVA has no writing and themes to speak off.

It’s just a bunch of moving images.

No substance, no emotion noting and the word nothing perfectly describes Twilight Axis.

It was painful to watch as I literally watched 27 minutes of utter unfinished gibberish. Don’t watch Gundam Twilight Axis it’s a cursed OVA that should have stayed in the depths of hell.

It was so bad it made to want to Gundam Build Divers again. As brokenly offensive that show was least I wasn’t bored out of my mind.

This is an embarrassment to the Gundam Franchise and you stay away from this blackhole of fail.

1/10

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑